Explore the Site
Insider's Guide  Weather

Insider's GuideHints & TipsAsk the Big KahunaBest Hidden Places10 Best of HawaiiHawaii RecipesWeatherTime Zones

Google Search



United States including Hawaii Time Zones

The United States uses nine standard time zones. From east to west they are:

  • Atlantic Standard Time (AST)
  • Eastern Standard Time (EST)
  • Central Standard Time (CST)
  • Mountain Standard Time (MST)
  • Pacific Standard Time (PST)
  • Alaskan Standard Time (AKST)
  • Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST)
  • Samoa Standard time (UTC-11)
  • Chamorro Standard Time (UTC+10)

Daylight Saving Time

Sample Time Zone Comparison:
LocationTime ZoneStandard TimeDaylight Saving Time
HawaiiHST2:00 pm2:00 pm
AlaskaAKST3:00 pm4:00 pm
PacificPST4:00 pm5:00 pm
MountainMST5:00 pm6:00 pm
CentralCST6:00 pm7:00 pm
EasternEST7:00 pm8:00 pm

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2:00 a.m. local time on the second Sunday in March. On the first Sunday in November, areas on Daylight Saving Time return to Standard Time at 2:00 a.m.

The names in each time zone change along with Daylight Saving Time. Eastern Standard Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and so forth.

Arizona, Puerto Rico, Hawaii, U.S. Virgin Islands, and American Samoa do not observe Daylight Saving Time.